Six Ways Having Kids Ruins Your Life

5 Feb

Having a kid changes your life in many ways, and not always good ones.

One of the reasons I started this blog was to vent about the irritating ways my son’s existence has forced me to alter my own and to show the world that having kids doesn’t need to change everything. Yes, becoming a parent definitely changes capital-E Everything, but it doesn’t have to change little-e everything.

So far, Mom and Buried and I have done a pretty good job of maintaining some semblance of our old lives even as the constant, daily, inescapable presence of a (now) toddler has forced us to make certain adjustments. Certain inconvenient and annoying adjustments.

We’ve been doing okay. But we haven’t been able to avoid every headache.

Six Ways Having Kids Ruins Your Life

Sleeping: Duh.

girl, dogs, parenting, life, family, toddlers, dads, moms, work, puppies, funnyEating: I used to be able to eat whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. Then I got married. And a few years after that, I had a kid. Now, every time I crack the pantry he spots something he wants and starts losing his shit until he gets it. Even when it’s dinner time and we’re all eating the same thing, he wants what’s on my plate. Even though he has the same exact thing on his plate. I used to think he was stupid, but now I know he’s just in the early stages of taking everything that’s mine and making it his. For the rest of his life. Just because he can.

Entertainment: I used to be able to watch and listen to whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. Then I got married. A few years after that, I had a kid. Now, not only can’t I go to the movies, when I’m home I have to hide the good stuff from him, i.e., anything with violence or bad language or sex, I have to sit through the garbage he likes, and fill my DVR with episodes of Yo Gabba Gabba and Curious George and Thomas the Stupidest Effing TV Show of All Time.

Having Sex: I used to be able to have sex with whomever I wanted, whenever I wanted. Then I got married. A few years after that, I had a kid. Now the wife and I have three options: first thing in the morning, in the rare (hellish) instance we wake up before our son; when we go to bed, if we’re not so exhausted we can barely even kiss good night; during his nap, provided he doesn’t wake up in the middle and start crying, thus obliterating any possibility of enjoying it. I mean, I can usually power through, but my wife’s interest completely dries up.

drunk, drinking, hungover, hangover, drunk mom, parenting, kids, toddlers, april fool's Drinking: The good news is he’s not yet at the age when drinking in front of him raises uncomfortable questions, like “can I have some?” or “are you an alcoholic?” or “why do you hate your life?” But with a toddler around, I can’t go out drinking as much and I have to get bombed a little less and being hungover is a thousand times worse. Worst of all, day drinking is almost impossible, either because we’re hanging out with our kid at the same time, or because we have to hang out with him when we get home and the babysitter leaves, and that’s no good. A toddler doesn’t need to be eating what I eat for dinner after I’ve spent six hours drinking in the sun. Believe me.

Being an Idiot: I used to be able to jaywalk. I used to be able to speed. I used to be able to curse at jay-walkers while I was speeding. I used to be able to not get a flu shot. I used to be able to sleep til noon for no reason. I used to be able to do all manner of stupid shit without even a second thought. Then I got married. A few years after that, I had a kid.

9 Responses to “Six Ways Having Kids Ruins Your Life”

  1. post post modern dad (@ppmdad) February 5, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    Being a responsible adult sucks, doesn’t it?

  2. saved in drafts February 5, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    so sooooo true

  3. Gina February 5, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    This was hilariously spot on, I’m afraid. You get some of that stuff back when they get older. However, you’re still married so hopefully you like doing the same things. They still take your shit (the kids).

  4. Justin- Writing Pad Dad February 5, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    Funny Post! Just wait until your kiddo doesn’t take a nap anymore! One less option! I’ll be posting about that soon! 🙂

  5. dailekelleher February 6, 2013 at 12:00 am #

    ‘6 reasons to continue using birth control’ Thank you Dad and Buried!

  6. A Gracious Life February 6, 2013 at 2:32 am #

    …spot on!

  7. mamaziller February 6, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    I can not even finish this, it’s too funny and my kid is napping while breast feeding so every time I laugh I’m afraid she will wake. One more thing I can’t do lol.

  8. sue diamond-phillips February 22, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    LOVVVVVEEEE this:)

  9. Horrible truth March 30, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    I’m sure that it is different for everybody but for me, HAVING CHILDREN HAS RUINED MY LIFE. I have an 8 yo and a 1 yo. I have next to zero time or money for myself. My happy marriage is over. I now have a roommate instead of a wife. I love both of my children but, if I could go back, I would not do this again. Anyone reading this may question why I did it? My wife really needed to be a mom. Looking back, I should not have married a woman who wanted to have children. I dread every day of my life. Parenthood is a joyless burden to me. Warning to prospective parents.

Leave a Reply

