Going National!

26 Mar

Yesterday, one of my blog entries – my Gender Neutral piece from December – was featured on the Huffington Post.

Now that I’m a superstar, I kind wanted to burn all my bridges and let my enemies know how I really feel, until I realized that my enemies won’t even bother reading this. Huffington Post, HuffPost Parents, @HuffPostParents, gender, gender roles, parenting, toddlers, flaming, message boards, trolls, dads

Then I remembered that this is the internet! Of course my enemies will read this! What’s the internet for if not to anonymously tear someone a new one? Like this guy, who took exception to my open-minded take on gender roles, and why I don’t really mind if someone mistakes my son for a girl:

“Parents like you are what is wrong with this country and children these days.” AWESOME!

So yeah, now that I am getting flamed on comment boards, I think it’s safe to say I’ve totally made it.

So thanks for reading, I’ll never forget you; especially if you share the HuffPo link with all your friends!

4 Responses to “Going National!”

  1. nannypology March 26, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

    Any publicity is good publicity, right?
    That guy is what’s wrong with the world, BTW. Ugh.
    Congrats on your fame!

  2. Dadicus Grinch March 28, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    Mike, Great article! Very proud of you and I believe you have the right idea about raising your son–we just want them to be happy!

    May I ask, do you submit to Huff Post or did they just find your blog? Another writer I know gets posted on there and I’m not sure of the protocol.

    Thanks for your help–congrats on “going national!”

    • Dad and Buried March 28, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

      Thanks!

      They actually included me in a “funny tweet” post a few weeks back, and I responded on Twitter and said I wanted to get a blog post published (I’d submitted a few w no luck). One of their editors responded and it snowballed from there. So if you’re on twitter, I would follow @HuffPostParents and engage them there.

  3. denise and sandy April 3, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    i have no doubt the Huffington Post is just the beginning for you. Although i am on the other side of parenting – empty nest – i don’t think there is a better writer about the joys and foibles of parenthood than you.

Leave a Reply

